Board of Trustees

SPTRFA is governed by a 10-member Board of Trustees that serves as a fiduciary to our members and beneficiaries. Nine of the ten board members are elected by the membership for staggered three-year terms.  One ex-officio board member is appointed by the St. Paul Public Schools School Board.

Three board members are elected each year at the Annual Meeting of the Members.

Members interested in running for a position on the Board of Trustees must file a completed nomination form with 10 SPTRFA member signatures, a 100-word candidate statement, and a picture.  Please review filing details below.

Notice to all members who wish to become a Trustee:

The SPTRFA Board of Trustees oversees the Association’s investments and operations, with the assistance of an Executive Director and staff.  They are an elected volunteer group of SPTRFA members. 

The seats up for re-election this year are held by Lori Borgeson, Mike McCollor, Karen Odegard. 

Candidates for the position of Trustee must be nominated by ten members of SPTRFA. 

  1. To request a nomination form, call or email us at,
  2. Completed forms must be received by close of business Friday 4:00 p.m., January 19, 2024, or earlier
  3. Copies or facsimiles will not be accepted.
  4. Nominations submitted by the deadline will appear on the voting proxy.

The Nomination deadline of, Friday 4:00 p.m., January 19, 2024 has passed. 

The 2023 1099-R tax statements were mailed on January 12, 2024